The Spelling Bee and A to Z Poetry

Our school’s annual spelling bee got me wondering: What if there actually was a bee that could spell? Creativity took over and several hours later out popped my poem, “The Spelling Bee.” After multiple revisions, critiques, and my mandatory “let it sit for a couple of weeks” rule, I was ready to submit it. The children’s magazine, BOYS’ QUEST, accepted it and I’m happy to announce that it appears in this month’s issue.

This isn’t the first time I’ve been inspired by a funny expression. My poem, “What Am I?” was inspired by a conversation with my then four-year-old. As I was trying to tie his shoe, the tongue got stuck. When I said, “Let me pull that tongue out,” he gasped. “My shoe has a tongue!?!”  That was all I needed. Grabbing the nearest scrap of paper and a crayon, I wrote the first draft while he played in his sneakers in our back yard.

What about you? What funny phrases have sparked your creativity? If you need a writing prompt this week, brainstorm the silliest expressions you can think of. Then pick one to jump start a story or poem.

OR… if you have time, pop over to Rena Traxel’s blog and be inspired by her A to Z Poetry Challenge. Each day she posts background on a different poetry form along with a prompt. Her posts have challenged and inspired me to write several poems including one about a bird waiting for her eggs to hatch. Go be inspired!  Here’s the link:  http://www.renajtraxelblog.com/

7 thoughts on “The Spelling Bee and A to Z Poetry

  1. Congratulations on the Boy’s Quest publication, Laura! You’re right, even just one word can prove to be a great prompt. I was part of a writing group for years that used a “word of the week” prompt. It was always great fun to see where that word led us.

  2. Congratulations on your publication! 🙂 If you are writing for Rena’s challenge, you should join in on her A-Z Poetry Facebook group. We have all enjoyed sharing our poems with each other and cheering each other on.

    My two year old keeps talking about all of these inanimate objects he is going to be when he grows up. “When I grow up I’m gonna be a big, red, firetruck.” “When I grow up I’m gonna be a super-fast skateboard.” This is so funny to me. I know there must be a story there….or at least a poem. 🙂

  3. Congratulations on your poem, Laura! My kids are always a great source of inspiration as well. They constantly say the funniest things. My three-year-old says “oobie doobie” instead of “absolutely”. As in, “I’m oobie doobie not going to eat that!”

    Natalie — My daughter used to say she’d be a “train” when she grew up. 🙂

  4. Congratulations on the acceptance, Laura!

    I wrote one poem called “If I had Rubber Arms”–chances are you’ve probably read it. It was inspired by my son when he was little. He yelled out one day “I wish I had rubber arms” and when I asked him why, he said so he could still do stuff when he’s sitting on the toilet. lol

    I’ll have to check out that blog you recommended. Sounds like fun!

Leave a Reply

