STORY TIME: Spreading the Joy of Reading (with coffee) at the Southside Roast

IMG_2226Here’s a little secret:  Not only do I love writing stories, I also love READING stories, not just to myself, but out loud. When I taught elementary school I read aloud everyday using different voices for each character.  The kids loved it and often brought in their own copies so they could read along. Reading aloud enlivened those stories an extra special way and got even the most reluctant readers interested in the magic of a good book.

As a writer and mom, I no longer work in the classroom, but I still love reading out loud. That’s why I’m thrilled to be participating in story time at our newest neighborhood coffee house.

If you live in the area, please bring your children and join me this coming Wednesday, July 17th at 9:30 am for story time at the Southside Roast in Cranford. (Take a peek at the picture for a preview of what I’ll be reading.)

Hope to see you there!

To learn more about the Southside Roast, click here. In addition to serving delicious coffee and tasty tidbits, they are a great venue for live music, gelato night, story time, and more. And the owner, Ann, is a true delight.

5 thoughts on “STORY TIME: Spreading the Joy of Reading (with coffee) at the Southside Roast

  1. What an awesome project. We’ve got lots of coffee houses nearby and lots of people who love PBs , but I know of none that would welcome a whole horde of kiddos at once. I envy your coffee-with-author place. Way to go, Author Laura.

Leave a Reply

