EXCITING NEWS: And the Illustrator for GOODNIGHT, ARK is….

Image 1

… JANE CHAPMAN!!!

I’m thrilled to announce that the wonderful Jane Chapman has illustrated my debut picture book GOODNIGHT, ARK, which is scheduled to hit shelves August 2014.  Jane’s illustrations practically glow off the page with warmth and humor.  I love how her colorful depictions of creatures fill every spread to the very edge. 

I was first captivated by Jane’s illustrations while reading Karma Wilson’s BEAR SNORES ON (Simon and Schuster, 2002) to my kids. Since then, I’ve read many of her books and just love the way she brings stories to life. I wasn’t one bit surprised, therefore, to learn that Jane is a multi-award winning illustrator with over 100 books under her belt including five New York Times bestsellers. I’m still over the moon that Zonderkidz paired us together for this project. Thank you, Zonderkidz! And thank you, Jane, for capturing so fetchingly the rollicking, yet ultimately restful essence of GOODNIGHT, ARK. I can’t wait until next summer when you all can see for yourselves each and every delightful illustration. 

40 thoughts on “EXCITING NEWS: And the Illustrator for GOODNIGHT, ARK is….

  1. Laura, I am thrilled for you! This is so well-deserved. May it be the first of many successful pairings. Congratulations, again!

  2. What a perfect pairing if ever there was one! This is so exciting! It looks awesome. Don’t you just want to snuggle up with that tiger? I can’t wait to see the rest of illustrations! Is it summer yet??

  3. Oh, wow, Laura, that is just too exciting! What fantastic illustrations on the cover. I was just talking with Julie about your book this morning and am so looking forward to buying my copy in August!

  4. I’m so glad you’re pleased with the artwork, because I love your story, and I’m honoured to illustrate your first book. The cover looks great! I’d only seen very dark printouts before now, so it’s lovely to see some truer colours on screen.
    Roll on the next collaboration eh?!

  5. Lauri, I can’t wait to see it either! WOW! I mean—-Jane Chapman! She’s amazing! 😀 You MUST be over-the-top elated about this, and yes, I can definitely imagine her illustrious illustration style suiting a goodnight book, especially one that takes place on the Ark 🙂 Congrats!

Leave a Reply

