ALA Las Vegas 2014: GOODNIGHT, ARK Book Signing

photo 2I returned home from Las Vegas last night energized after a whirlwind trip to the ALA Annual Convention to do my first book signing at the Zonderkidz booth in Exhibit Hall at the convention center.

photo 1The Zonderkidz sales team did a terrific job getting the booth ready for the signing with 216 books neatly stacked on either side of the signing table.

photo 5They also did a smash up job spreading the word. Indeed, the line to get books signed began forming early – at 9:15 – and quickly stretched around the corner like a long snake!

photo 2I signed books nonstop until I ran out at just past 10:30.  I loved interacting with each and every book enthusiast who stopped by to get a signed copy.  My hand was tired by the time I signed copy no. 216, but it was worth it!

photo 3Thank you, Zonderkidz for flying me out and thank you, librarians, for your enthusiastic response to GOODNIGHT, ARK!

 

19 thoughts on “ALA Las Vegas 2014: GOODNIGHT, ARK Book Signing

    • Tina, I didn’t have time to really explore much and thus meet other authors, but I did get to meet several of the other Zonderkidz authors who were also having signings. I also met one of the editors and several folks from their awesome marketing department. The general practice at the ALA seems to be to give away the books at signings so, technically, we ran out, rather than sold out, of books. Still, it was an amazing way to promote the book and an experience I’ll remember fondly for a long time.

  1. How wonderful, Laura! I mean, really—what an exciting, memorable event for you! Just to be at the ALA is fantastic, but to have this wonderful, successful debut book signing—magnifico! 😀

  2. How exciting! That’s wonderful, Laura! Yay! Glad you got those great pics. Must have been quite an experience. Definitely a nice reason to get writer’s cramp! 🙂 Can’t wait to get a copy of my own.

Leave a Reply

