Do Your Children Ever Catch YOU Reading?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThis summer Pragmatic Mom ran a wonderful challenge entitled “Kids Caught in the Act… of READING!” and all summer parents sent in adorable pictures of kids caught in the wonderful act of … READING!

I love the idea of catching our children reading and ever since my children were babies, I’ve done everything in my power to get my kids hooked on books. Here we are reading before bed when they were little. Bedtime reading is more independent now, but it still happens – every night.OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Nonetheless, all this “catching” has gotten me thinking, how often do our kids catch us reading? Not reading to them, which is important, but reading for ourselves, on our own.

I’m certain one reason I’m a life-long reader is that as I child I saw my parents reading.  Yes, they read to me too, but I have distinct memories of my parents sitting in the living room reading, while I played, or drew, or sometimes snuggled in.  My mother would make herself a cup of tea, cut an apple into crisp wedges and then sit and savor both story and snack.  Soon, I was requesting apple wedges while I read too.

At one point when they were little, I felt guilty reading while the kids were around.  Shouldn’t I be playing with them? Or chatting with them?  Or reading to them? Yes, of course, I should, and I did. But I finally concluded there was nothing wrong with, and perhaps everything right with, taking out my book and reading while they were happily engaged nearby.

Indeed, I’m pretty sure we wouldn’t have great shots like these if my parents, and my husband and I hadn’t taken a little time to read in front of the kids. P4160063 P3180043IMG_1356So, grab a book or a newspaper, and read where your kids can see you.  I think you’ll find, as we have, that the reading bug is very contagious!  Happy reading all!

3 thoughts on “Do Your Children Ever Catch YOU Reading?

  1. Adorable photos, Laura! thanks for the reminder to read in front of our kiddos. I usually end up reading after they are in bed.

  2. Thanks for the encouragement, Laura! Not that I needed it…my kids definitely see me reading more than they see me cleaning, or doing laundry, or just about anything else. But now I don’t have to feel guilty for that! LOL 🙂

  3. Thank you for this Laura. I often think about reading a book in the evening while the kids are playing, but for some reason I always talk myself out of it. I’m going to make an effort this week to read “in public” (it sounds so racy!)

Leave a Reply

