THANKS for a GREAT YEAR! (And here’s to a Happy 2015!)

IMG_1837As we prepare to throw a little confetti and sip a little sparkly tonight, I thought it would be fun, given that WordPress so kindly sent me a wrap-up of my stats for 2014, to celebrate their findings and to thank you, dear readers, for reading my blog!

The busiest day of the year was February 10th with 177 views. The most popular post that day was INTERVIEW: Robin Newman Chats about her Journey into Picture Book Writing.  Thanks, Robin, for making that day so special, and I hope that you will stop by again this year to celebrate the release of THE CASE OF THE MISSING CARROT CAKE (Creston Books, March 2015).

The most visited post was Five Characteristics that Give Picture Books P.U.N.C.H!  with 637 hits, followed by Picture Books with P.U.N.C.H:  Cumulative Stories with 405 hits.  What fascinates me is that these popular posts date back to 2012 and 2013, which suggests to me an ongoing interest in this topic.  So, for 2015, I will add fresh posts to this series on story structure. Any structures you are particularly keen to dissect?

My most commented on post in 2014 was INTERVIEW with Debut Picture Book Author Rebecca Colby… and A GIVEAWAY!  Thank you, Rebecca for generating such a great chat. And you thank you, readers, for contributing your comments through out the year – 697 comments in all with 491 likes.  How lovely!

All in all, the blog was visited by 5,345 visitors and had just under 10,000 hits.  In addition, I took to the virtual road this year on my first ever blog tour, making 11 tour stops plus several more scattered through out the year.  I enjoyed every visit and am grateful for the wonderful bloggers who hosted me.

Come April, I will have been blogging for three years. I began this journey cautiously, unsure that I would like blogging at all. I have been delighted to discover, however,  that I love adding fresh weekly posts. Not only are they fun to write, they have also led me to this wonderful community of folks of who love writing for kids.

So tonight, as I sip that little bit of sparkly, I will clink my glass to you all!

Happy writing, happy reading, and HAPPY NEW YEAR!

7 thoughts on “THANKS for a GREAT YEAR! (And here’s to a Happy 2015!)

  1. I always enjoy reading your blog posts, Laura! And what fun to read all the stats! Thank you for having me on your blog this year and I wish you all the best for the New Year!

  2. I’d say you’ve definitely had a full and successful year, Laura, especially with the release of your BOOK!!! 😀 And wow, way to go, Robin! I’ve enjoyed it all with you, Laura, and look forward to more 🙂

    Happy EVERYthing! 😀

Leave a Reply

