POEMS BY KIDS: The Leaning Tower of Papers

IMG_0204

Today’s post is written by a very special fourteen year old in my life – my son!  The inspiration is the quarterly notebook check that occurs in several of his classes.  Who knew that disorganization could be so inspiring?  Enjoy!

The Tower of Pages

.

My notebook towers over me.

It’s falling everywhere.

I have one week to clean it out –

The road to my binder despair.

.

Paper, paper, paper

I try to calm my nerves.

Paper, paper, paper

My path of good grades swerves.

.

I open up the binder.

It’s messy and has a smell.

I crack my knuckles and set to work

To get a grade that’s swell.

.

Cleaning, cleaning, cleaning

This monstrous binder whimpers

Cleaning, cleaning, cleaning

I feel like I’ve been at it for winters.

.

Papers, papers, papers

It was messy but now I’m done.

I hand it in with a victorious smile.

I tackled the monster and won!

5 thoughts on “POEMS BY KIDS: The Leaning Tower of Papers

  1. My 12 yr old daughter & I enjoyed the poem! It must be such relief to be finished! I had a stack of papers on my desk to tackle, too!

Leave a Reply

