VERY INSPIRING BLOGGER AWARD!

very-inspirational-bloggerThank you, Darlene Beck Jacobsen, for nominating me for the “Very Inspiring Blogger Award”. Darlene is the author of Wheels of Change, a captivating middle-grade historical novel set in the turn of the last century. I find her so inspiring, that I have asked her to be my guest blogger next month! In the meantime, check out her blog.

The Very Inspring Blogger Award rules are:
• Display the award on your blog
• Link back to the person who nominated you
• State 7 things about yourself
• Nominate 15 bloggers, link to them, and notify them about their nominations.

Without further ado, here are seven things about me you never (I mean always) wanted to know:

1. I begin each morning with my Bible, my journal, and a cup of freshly steeped loose Scottish breakfast tea, served with a splash of milk.

2. According to my kids, it’s impossible to sit near me when I’m engrossed in writing a poem or rhyming story because I tap the table, or sofa, or floor as I write. Worse yet, I say the lines aloud as I write.

3. If I’m engrossed in my writing, I sometimes fool my family into thinking dinner preparations are underway by sautéing some decoy onions. (This is a trick I learned from my artist mother.  It works and you can always add the onions to whatever you ultimately make for dinner.)

4. My favorite time of day is just before bed when I curl up with my daughter or a little read-aloud time. Right now we are Hilary McKay’s Lulu and the Dog from the Sea to each other!

5. When I read aloud I use different voices for each character. My kids think it’s cool that I can remember whose voice is whose. If I get a voice wrong, they correct me. My daughter now incorporates this into her reading as well.

6. I recently found out from the parent of a former student that my nickname among the parents of the fourth graders I taught way back when was…. MARY POPPINS!

7. Ever since I was a little girl reading Highlights for Children, I have always read magazines back to front.

And now, in nicely subdivided categories, are 9 (because 15 seems overwhelming) blogs/bloggers I nominate for the “Very Inspiring Blogger Award”:

Blogs about WRITING:

Tina Cho at Tina’s Tidbits for her thoughtful musings on all aspects of writing for kids.

Penny Klostermann at A Penny and Her Jots for her peppy posts and most especially for her inspirational Great Aunt Poetry series.

The talented picture book authors and illustrators at Picture Book Den for their insightful reflections on the picture book writing process.

Children’s BOOK REVIEW Blogs: 

Susanna Leonard Hill for her inspirational Perfect Picture Book Fridays.

Debbie Alvarez at The Stylin’ Librarian  for her astute book reviews and recommendations and her terrific author interviews.

Juliana Lee at Crafting Stories for her peppy daily picture book reviews. This year she’s going to be pairing them with activities!

Blogs that GROW my faith:

Becky Kopitzke at Time Out for Moms for her posts that encourage “imperfect moms to follow a grace-filled God”.

The collective of writers at Cul-de-Sac who challenge readers to recognize God in the daily circumstances of life.

Noelle Kirchner at Vocational Mothering for her thoughtful posts that affirm motherhood as a sacred task.

13 thoughts on “VERY INSPIRING BLOGGER AWARD!

  1. Congratulations on being inspiring, Laura. This award is well-deserved. My mom also talks out loud to herself when she is writing. It’s a little scary, plus I think she’s talking to me, but I have no idea what she’s talking about.

    Love and licks,
    Cupcake

  2. Congratulations on your award! And thank you, Laura, for this nomination! What a great way to bring writers together and spread the word about our work. (BTW, I especially liked point #1 – I am a tea and Bible lover too!) 🙂

Leave a Reply

