MY LITTLE ALARM CLOCK: A Poem in Honor of Mother’s Day (and a GIVEAWAY!)

IMG_0358With Mother’s Day just around the corner, I thought it would be fun to celebrate with a poem of mine that originally appeared in Chicken Soup for the Soul New Moms : 101 Inspirational Stories of Joy, Love, and Wonder (2011). Inspired by my first little alarm clock (I now have two and they aren’t so little anymore), I hope my poem fills you with a sense of the wonder (and exhaustion) of being a new mom.  And just for fun, I’m going to be giving away a FREE copy of Chicken Soup for the Soul New Moms.  Enter to win a signed copy for yourself, or for someone you know who expecting a new little clock, by leaving a comment at the end of the post. One entry per person. Happy Mother’s Day!

.

My Little Alarm Clock

by 

Laura Sassi

.

I used to awaken ahead of my clock

Rub eyes to the beat of its tickety-tock

Then reach for the spot to shut off its first beep

Before my clock jangled me up from my sleep.

.

This pattern has changed since I got my new clock.

I simply adore its delightful tick-tock,

But now I have trouble awaking before

It rouses me up with its sweet little roar.

.

The moment the morning birds make their first peeps

My clock comes alive with soft gurgles and beeps.

With motherly love I arrive at great speed

To tend to my new little clock’s every need.

.

It’s true, I admit, since I got my new clock

I’m sometimes exhausted and can’t even talk.

To care for my timepiece keeps me on my toes,

Bedraggled and frazzled with no time to doze.

.

My new little ticker is often quite wet

And gets all wound up if its needs are not met.

It jangles and beeps with a mind of its own

At dawn, noon, or dusk with a deafening tone.

.

But even though sometimes its still hard to tell

Just why my alarm clock is ringing its bell,

Or waking me up in the dark of the night,

I still whisper thanks as I hold my clock tight.

.

Although my old clock once allowed me to snooze,

That option no longer is one I can choose.

I still wouldn’t trade my new clock for the old

For the joy this clock brings is more precious than gold.

“My Little Alarm Clock” by Laura Sassi from Chicken Soup for the Soul
New Moms : 101 Inspirational Stories of Joy, Love, and Wonder, copyright 2011 by Laura Sassi, Chicken Soup for the Soul Publishing, LLC. All rights reserved.

Don’t forget to enter the GIVEAWAY!  (Simply leave a comment. You must be at least 13 to enter. Contest ends Thursday, May 7th, 2015 at midnight EST. Winner will be announced Friday.

8 thoughts on “MY LITTLE ALARM CLOCK: A Poem in Honor of Mother’s Day (and a GIVEAWAY!)

  1. That is SO sweet. I remember those days well, and not-so-fondly! 5:30 a.m. on the nose for the first ten years…it’s now such a delight for ME to have a turn being the alarm clock. Happy Mother’s Day!

Leave a Reply

