PICKING RASPBERRIES: Thoughts on Writing and Living

RaspberriesIt’s almost raspberry picking time again and that has gotten me thinking about, of all things, life and how we choose to live it. A couple of summers ago I posted a writing analogy about raspberries. In that post I described how my children and I were enjoying picking raspberries up the street in a wild raspberry patch we had discovered.  I observed that even in this culture where “more” is perceived as “better”, my kids understood that part of what made the berries in this patch special was their scarcity. Each day we ate only a few and we savored each one.

Summertime writing, I observed, was a lot like raspberry picking because, with my kids home from school, time to write would be at a premium. Each day, like raspberries, I would pick a few precious moments to write. These times, I explained, would be short, but intense, and I vowed to savor each and every one.

After that post went live, my mother, who many of you will recall was in the midst if fighting a valiant battle with ALS, sent me this email which I saved and now treasure.  She wrote:

Reading your latest blog, it struck me that what you say about savoring wild raspberries is a lot like living with ALS– I try to enjoy, get the most out of, each little thing that happens — our telephone calls, John’s sweet smile (that’s my dad), a cardinal flying by, sitting at Sunnyside…..It is having appreciation for small things that makes for a happy life.

Her wise words have stuck with me, for in the big picture, we are all like my mother. No, we don’t all have ALS, but we all live in an imperfect world where bad things happen. Our hearts get wrenched. We go through difficult times. We struggle. But, if in the midst of all that, we can find something good in each day, even if it’s just a little thing or a small moment, then like my mother, I think we too, will find the secret to a happy life.

What small moments will come your way today?  Take time today to recognize them and to give thanks.  Blessings, all!

8 thoughts on “PICKING RASPBERRIES: Thoughts on Writing and Living

  1. This post is perfect. We need to notice and savor the little things in the journey. The little things turn out to be the big things and the journey turns out to be its own destination. Raspberries. Mmmmm….

  2. I love Iris Murdoch’s thought: “The secret to a happy life is continuous small treats.” I try to pepper my days with little things that bring me a lift (even something as small as flavored creamer in my coffee). I teach my kids that if you are easily pleased, you will always find something to be happy about!

  3. A beautiful post and a lovely way to thing about the little gems that are our brief summer writing times. May the sun shine and the breeze blow some sea air on those moments.

Leave a Reply

