Inspiration, Picture Books, Writing

FAIRY WASH: Capturing Ideas Before They EVAPORATE!

IMG_2224In light of my post earlier this week on studying fairy houses, er, mentor texts, as a way to improve our picture book writing skills, I couldn’t resist continuing the fairy theme with this oldie but goodie.  (My daughter still LOVES fairies, by the way.)  I hope you enjoy the fairy analogy. 

My daughter, age eight, is convinced there are fairies living in our neighbor’s yard. For one thing, the dense flower beds and towering trees are perfect spots for fairy houses. We’ve even had a couple of unconfirmed sightings of dainty creatures with wings flying near the daisies. They may have been dragonflies, but you never know. The clincher, though, is that early the other morning, while walking the dog, I spotted fairy wash out to dry on our neighbor’s lawn.  I’m talking sheets and towels, blankets and pilllow cases. How do I know it was fairy wash? Well, I recognized it immediately from my own childhood, when my grandmother showed me fairy wash on her front lawn.  Fairy wash is distinctive because  it sparkles.

Skeptics think fairy linens are simply dew-dazzled spider webs, but my daughter and I know better. That’s why  when I returned from my walk, I grabbed my daughter (and camera) and hurried back so we could prove conclusively that fairies do indeed live in our neighborhood.

We were too late.  The fairy wash was no where insight.  It had evaporated, or rather, already been taken in by those elusive fairies. The next morning, intent on succeeding my daughter joined me on my early morning walk. Lo and behold, the fairies had again been busy with their wash and we now offer you our proof that they do indeed exist (see picture above).

As writers, there is a lesson to be learned here.  Ideas, after all, are kind of like fairy wash. If we don’t capture them right away, they might evaporate. That’s why I try to always carry not only my camera (so I can snap shots of those elusive fairies) but also my trusty tiny notebook.  It’s so small, there’s no excuse not to have it along at all times.  How about you?  Have you got that notebook ready so you can capture your next dazzling idea before it evaporates?

Happy writing, all!

6 thoughts on “FAIRY WASH: Capturing Ideas Before They EVAPORATE!”

  1. That fairy wash is gorgeous! I have never seen any before this. Thoughts and ideas can indeed disappear if they’re not quickly and securely collected. I don’t do paper, but since I am never more than a foot away from my phone – that’s where my fairy laundry is captured.

  2. I always have something handy to jot down ideas! I never knew that those little sparkling spots in the lawn were fairy linens. Good to know!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.