FROSTY LEAVES: Seeing the World with Writerly Eyes

Look what I spotted on my walk  – frosty leaves sparkling in the early morning sun. Covered in the daintiest of crystals, they took my breath away and Sophie and I had to stop for a closer look. While she waited patiently, her sweet pants punctuating the morning cold in little steamy puffs, her tail wagging, I marveled at the intricacy of the crystal patterns and how the frost so beautifully outlined each leafy vein.

As we continued our walk, my mind was already racing in the way a writer’s mind does.  Do you know what I mean? Does your mind race too – forming poems and story lines – just at the sight of, say, morning frost?

img_3744This is not the first time frost has set my imagination in motion.  One early winter morning a couple of years ago, hoarfrost inspired a little poem about a chipmunk scurrying to get ready for winter.  That poem, entitled “Chipmunk’s First Frost”, appeared in the November 2013 issue of Clubhouse Jr.  I wonder what the frost will inspire this time? I’m not sure yet, but I think fairies may play a role.

I LOVE seeing the world through writerly eyes. It makes each day richer and each moment fuller.  I make observations that I might not otherwise, storing up treasured tidbits of humor, irony and beauty that become the spark for writing projects. Even if I never got published, I would still keep writing for it is a wonderful gift to be able to see the world through writerly eyes.

Now, as we start a new year, my heart is filled with joy at all the story and poem possibilities that await, ready for me to embrace – but only if I am attentive in using the gift of these writerly eyes!  HAPPY NEW YEAR and HAPPY WRITING ALL!

16 thoughts on “FROSTY LEAVES: Seeing the World with Writerly Eyes

  1. Happy New Year, Laura!
    I totally relate to this. I love when something strikes me and words start percolating in my head. Here’s to putting those words on paper and finding more sparks in 2017✨

  2. So wonderful, and so you, Laura. Yes, it’s in the details. First you see, then you see meaning. Writely eyes, indeed.
    Happy and blessed new year to you and yours.

  3. I love your “writerly eyes”! I haven’t thought of it that way, but I love it! I also have a dog named Sophie! I almost thought I was writing when I read your post. I too find treasures when I am walking with her. I will have to use my writerly eyes next time on our walks 🙂

Leave a Reply

