Appearances, Picture Books, Reading

EL AMOR ES BONDADOSO Read Aloud by Laura Sassi!

One of my JOYS over the past couple of months has been learning to read EL AMOR ES BONDADOSO (Vida Zondervan) in Spanish so that I can read it at bilingual school and library visits (all of which have now been temporarily canceled). For the first step, my ADORABLE dad, who speaks Spanish fluently, sent me little video tutorials so I could listen and then read on my own with his voice in my head. Here is a sample of one of his sweet tutorials:

The practice schedule intensified when my publisher invited me to do a Facebook Live! Story Time on their Facebook Page. I said yes, of course, but I still had a lot of practicing to do, so Dad and I began a lovely evening pattern of connecting via FaceTime at 8:45 pm so he could listen to me read through the story and then give feedback. It was extra precious because – due to Covid-19 – we’ve both been having to shelter in place – he in Virginia and me in New Jersey.

The EL AMOR ES BONDADOSO Story Time aired on April 1st (no kidding!) and it’s now on Youtube as well. I thought perhaps you might enjoy reading along with your copy (or ordering one if you don’t yet have one) as I share this story about the many ways love can be extended to others. Here it is:

16 thoughts on “EL AMOR ES BONDADOSO Read Aloud by Laura Sassi!”

  1. Muy excelente! I understood a little of your introduction of yourself from my 2 yrs of high school Spanish :).

  2. Love this so much!
    Your dad relationship with your dad is precious! Glad he could help you practice.
    You are so brave to read before a Spanish-speaking audience!

  3. I agree that your dad is adorable (and handsome) and you, Laura, are almost đŸ˜‰ as adorable.
    Your book is needed in every language.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.